How would adding International Bestselling Author to your list of accomplishments feel? Consider writing a 2,500 to 3,500 word chapter for the International bestselling Journeys To Success book series. For details click HERE

2014 Toronto International Book Fair

The Captain Underpants series

The 2014 Toronto International Book Fair was held at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre from November 14-16. My wife and I visited on Saturday and really enjoyed it.

One of the hilights for my wife was the appearance of Dav Pilkey, author of the Captain Underpants series. Her kids loved them when they were growing up.

About the Toronto International Book Fair


Above: Frank Christopher Busch author of Grey Eyes

From the website:

INSPIRE! Toronto International Book Fair will appeal to all book lovers and readers. From Literary to Romance, from Science Fiction to Mystery, from Children’s Books to Cookbooks, the Fair makes the Book, in all its various forms, the star of the show. It will provide for the English-language market as well as Toronto’s diverse language communities, hosting international, national, regional and local exhibitors.

INSPIRE! Toronto International Book Fair will be part exhibition, part market and part cultural festival, celebrating reading in all forms and embracing all facets of the book trade. It will be a place for readers to connect with those who write and produce the books they love—to learn, explore and be entertained, in all print and digital formats.

INSPIRE! Toronto International Book Fair is a place for readers to connect in the most immediate ways with those who write and with those who produce the books they love; a place where people can reconnect with the passion and enchantment of the world of reading.



Above: An interesting shelf of books including John Cleese, Don Cherry, Richard Branson and Michael Coren



Above: Canadian Hero and Astronaut Chris Hadfield was at the Toronto International Book Fair to sign his books



Above: Creativity Inc caught my eye and looks like a great book. Here is the Amazon description.

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”

For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E,which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

• Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
• If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead. 
• It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
• The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them. 
• A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
• Do not assume that general agreement will lead to change—it takes substantial energy to move a group, even when all are on board.


Sunil Godse author of Fail Fast, Succeed Faster was at the Toronto International Book Fair to sign books and speak on one of the stages.

Above: A publication by Industry Canada has shown that between 2002 and 2008, 99,000 businesses were created, and within that same time frame, only 8,800 survived, representing a 91% failure rate! Less than one in 10 businesses actually survived!

Fail Fast. Succeed Faster. is a collection of real life one-on-one interviews with over 200 business executives who gave their valued time to share their incredible stories of business challenges and failures. The goal of the book is to enhance business success by learning through the failures and challenges of others. By being better prepared to tackle business hurdles, entrepreneurs are able to save time and money, directing resources to where they are most needed: moving the business forward.

It is inevitable that an entrepreneur will go through business challenges. But by purchasing a copy today, anyone thinking of starting or expanding a business can put themselves on the path to success by learning from the failures of others—instead of their own.

Fail Fast and Succeed Faster.

I was happy to contribute to Sunil Godse’s effort to speak openly about what we can learn from failing. It’s something we all do but don’t listen closely enough to the learning. Kudos to Mr. Godse for pulling our mistakes together in a way we can all benefit from.—BRUCE CROXON, Co-Founder—Round13 Capital and former Co-Founder—Lavalife

Sunil’s book can help any business, whether it’s in start-up mode or poised for growth. Learn from the failures and successes of others, and succeed faster.—BILL JOHNSON, Former Chairman and CEO, McDonald’s Restaurants Canada Ltd.

From success, we gain satisfaction and confidence. From failure, we gain wisdom and humility. May we all make enough mistakes to live a balanced life. Sunil’s book will show you how to learn from failures and help you on the road to success.—IRENE CHANG BRITT, Senior Vice President—Global Baking and Snacking, President—Pepperidge Farm


My Amazon Authors page http://amzn.to/2p0sIWl


Would weekly one-on-one video mentoring from the world's most well known Napoleon Hill Foundation Certified Instructor help you stay accountable to, and achieve, your life's purpose and goals faster than what you are currently doing?

$200 US initial investment for a 1 hour consultation then $100 US monthly. For details, email tom@tom2tall.com

Need help discovering, defining, pursuing and achieving your life's purpose and goals? 

3 one hour sessions for $300. For more details, email tom@tom2tall.com


Benefits from alkaline ionized water are attributed to the hydrogen gas produced during electrolysis. Your health depends on the best. www.sandykimpel.com